A-Z Index | Phone Book | Careers

Divisions & Facilities

The Computing Sciences Area is comprised of three divisions that operate two national facilities. The Computational Research Division is home to mathematicians, computer scientists (who study and innovate in computing architectures, software and alogorithms) and computational scientists (who specialize in using computational methods to study non-computer science subjects, such as climate or physics). The National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) is DOE national user facility that serves researchers across the nation. It is housed within the epynomous NERSC Division. The Energy Sciences Network (ESnet) is also a national facility operated by the Scientific Networking Division.