A-Z Index | Phone Book | Careers

Berkeley Lab Computing Sciences Goes Virtual at SC20

October 30, 2020

Contact: [email protected]

SC20 loogimage

As they have for nearly three decades, Berkeley Lab Computing Sciences Area (CSA) staff from the Computational Research Division, ESnet, and NERSC will share their expertise with the global HPC community at SC20 through tutorials, workshops, panels, technical papers, and posters as part of the conference technical program. There’s one big difference this year, though: the entire event will be virtual.

SC20 takes place November 9-19. For more information and to see the full program, visit the SC20 website.

Here’s a day-by-day guide to SC20 sessions featuring CSA staff and resources:

Monday, Nov. 9

Tutorials

Performance Tuning with the Roofline Model on GPUs and CPUs: Part 1, 10 am – 2 pm EST, 7-11 am PST; presenters include Sam Williams (CRD), Khaled Ibrahim (CRD), and Charlene Yang (NERSC)

In Situ Analysis and Visualization with SENSEI and Ascent, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am - 3:30 pm PST; authors include Burlen Loring and Wes Bethel of CRD

Parallel I/O In Practice, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; organizers Glenn Lockwood of NERSC

The OpenMP Common Core: A Hands-On Introduction: Part 1, 2:30-6:30 EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Helen He of NERSC

Tuesday, Nov. 10

Tutorials

Performance Tuning with the Roofline Model on GPUs and CPUs: Part 2, 10 am – 2 pm EST, 7-11 am PST; presenters include Sam Williams (CRD), Khaled Ibrahim (CRD), and Charlene Yang (NERSC)

Deep Learning at Scale, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Wahid Bhimji, Steven Farrell, and Mustafa Mustafa, NERSC

The OpenMP Common Core: A “hands-on” Introduction - Part 2, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Helen He of NERSC

Parallel I/O In Practice: Part 2, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Glenn Lockwood of NERSC

UPC++: An Asynchronous RMA/RPC Library for Distributed C++ Applications, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Amir Kamil, Dan Bonachea, and Paul Hargrove of CRD and Kathy Yelick, former ALD of Berkeley Lab’s Computing Sciences Area who now holds a joint research appointment at Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley

Using Containers to Accelerate HPC, 2:30-6:30 EST, 11:30 am-3:30 pm PST; presenters include Shane Canon of NERSC

Wednesday, Nov. 11

Workshops

Women in HPC, 9 am - 5:30 pm EST, 6 am - 2:30 pm PST; presenters include Deborah Bard of NERSC

HiPar20: Workshop on Hierarchical Parallelism for Exascale Computing, 10 am-6 pm EST, 7 am - 3 pm PST; organizers include Sherry Li of CRD

First International Workshop on Quantum Computing Software, 10 am – 6:30 pm EST, 7 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Bert de Jong of CRD

Presentations/Papers

LEAP: Scaling Numerical Optimization Based Synthesis Using an Incremental Approach, 11-11:20 am EST, 8-8:20 am PST; part of the First International Workshop on Quantum Computing Software; presenters include Costin Iancu of CRD

A Case Study and Characterization of a Many-socket, Multi-tier NUMA HPC Platform, 11:15-11:40 am EST, 8:15-8:40 am PST; part of the HiPar20 Workshop; authors include Steven Hofmeyr, CRD

Navigating your way to the job or promotion you want, 11:50 am to 12:10 pm EST, 8:50-9:10 am PST; part of the Women in HPC: Diversifying the HPC Community and Engaging Male Allies workshop; author: Deborah Bard of NERSC

QubiC - qubits control systems at LBNL, 1-1:20 pm EST, 10-10:20 am PST; part of the First International Workshop on Quantum Computing Software; authors include Jan Balewski of NERSC

ArQTiC: A full-stack software package for dynamic simulations of materials on quantum computers, 2:40-3 pm EST, 11:40 am - 12:00 pm PST; part of the First International Workshop on Quantum Computing Software; authors include Bert de Jong and Lindsay Bassman of CRD

How the ECP Training Project is helping the entire HPC Community prepare for Exascale Computing, 3-3:15 pm EST, 12-12:15 pm PST; part of the Seventh SC Workshop on Best Practices for HPC Training and Education; authors include Osni Marques of CRD

Time-Based Roofline for Deep Learning Performance Analysis, 2:30-3 pm EST, 11:30 am - 12:00 pm PST; part of the 5th Deep Learning on Supercomputers Workshop; authors include Yunsong Wang, Charlene Yang, and Steven Farrell of NERSC and Sam Williams of CRD

Automation of NERSC Application Usage Report, 2:45-3:15 pm EST, 11:45 am - 12:15 pm PST; part of HUST-20: 7th International Workshop on HPC User Support Tools; authors include Zhengji Zhao of NERSC

Employing Directed Internship and Apprenticeship for Fostering HPC Training and Education, 3:15-3:30 pm EST, 12:15-12:30 pm PST; part of the Seventh SC Workshop on Best Practices for HPC Training and Education; authors include Elizabeth Bautista, NERSC

Characterizing Scientific Workflows on HPC Systems using Logs, 4:30-5 pm EST, 1:30-2 pm PST; part of WORKS20: 15th Workshop on Workflows in Support of Large-Scale Science; authors include Devarshi Ghoshal and Lavanya Ramakrishnan of CRD; and Brian Austin, Deborah Bard, Christopher Daley, Nicholas Wright, and Glenn Lockwood of NERSC.

Thursday, Nov. 12

Workshops

CANOPIE-HPC: Containers and New Orchestration Paradigms for Isolated Environments in HPC, 10 am – 6:30 pm EST, 7 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Shane Canon of NERSC

INDIS 2020: The 7th International Workshop on Innovating the Network for Data-Intensive Science, 10 am – 6:30 pm EST, 7 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Mariam Kiran of ESnet

ISAV 2020: In Situ Infrastructures for Enabling Extreme-Scale Analysis and Visualization, 10 am – 6:30 pm EST, 7 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Wes Bethel of CRD

Keynote

ISAV 2020: Uses of in situ/in transit methods in large-scale modeling of plasma-based particle accelerators, 2:30-3:30 pm EST, 11:30 am - 12:30 pm PST; presenters are Jean-Luc Vay and Alex Huebel, computational physicists at Berkeley Lab

Panels

Panel Discussion: Experimental Networks (XNET), 11:30-11:55 am EST, 8:30-8:55 am PST; part of the INDIS 2020 workshop; panelists include Ezra Kissel, Inder Monga, and Andrew Wiedlea of ESnet

ISAV Panel: Experiences from the Trenches, 4:35-5:57 pm EST, 1:35-2:57 pm PST; panelists include Oliver Ruebel of CRD

Papers/Presentations

Introduction: CANOPIE-HPC: Containers and New Orchestration Paradigms for Isolated Environments in HPC, 10-10:45 am EST, 7-7:45 am PST; presenters include Shane Canon of NERSC

The Performance and Energy Efficiency Potential of FPGAs in Scientific Computing, 10:30-11 am EST, 7:30-8 am PST; authors/presenters include Sam Williams, Colin MacLean, Douglas Doerfler, and Nicholas Wright of NERSC

Cross-Facility Science with the Superfacility Project at LBNL, 10:45-11:10 am EST, 7:45-8:10 am PST; part of the XLOOP 2020 workshop; authors include Bjoern Enders, Deborah Bar, Cory Snavely Lisa Gerhardt, Jason Lee, Becci Totzke, Katie Antypas, Suren Byna, Ravi Cheema, Shreyas Cholia, Mark Day, Aditi Gaur, Annette Greiner, Taylor Groves, Miriam Kiran, Quincey Koziol, Kelly Rowland, Chris Samuel, Ashwin Selvarajan, Alex Sim, David Skinner, Rollin Thomas, and Gabor Torok of NERSC

XNET Lightning Talk: Quantum Networking, 11:22-11:26 am EST, 8:22-8:26 am PST; part of INDIS 2020 workshop; presenter: Inder Monga of ESnet

XNET Lightning Talk: Extending the Research Engineering Network to the Wireless Edge, 11:26-11:30 am EST, 8:26-8:30 am PST; part of INDIS 2020; author/presenter: Andrew Wiedlea, ESnet

Interactive Parallel Workflows for Synchrotron Tomography, 12:40-1:05 pm EST, 9:40-10:05 am PST; part of the XLOOP 2020 workshop; author is Dula Parkinson of the Advanced Light Source at Berkeley Lab

The Role of Containers in Reproducibility, 1:05-1:30 pm EST, 10:05-10:30 am PST; part of the CANOPIE-HPC workshop; author: Shane Canon of NERSC

GPU Direct I/O with HDF5, 1:46-2:15 pm EST, 10:46-11:15 am PST; part of the Fifth International Parallel Data Systems Workshop; authors include Suren Byna of CRD and Quincey Koziol of NERSC

The NetSage Measurement Framework: Design, Development, and Discoveries, 4:05-4:30 pm EST, 1:05-1:30 pm PST; authors/presenters include Andrew Lake, Samir Faci, Brian Tierney, and Edward Balas of ESnet

AI for Networking: the Engineering Perspective, 4:45-5:15 pm EST, 1:45-2:15 pm PST; part of the INDIS 2020 workshop; author/presenter: Mariam Kiran of ESnet

Performance Trade-offs in GPU Communication: A Study of Host and Device-initiated Approaches, 4:45-5:15 pm EST, 1:45-2:15 pm PST; part of the PMBS20 Workshop; authors include Taylor Groves and Nicholas Wright of NERSC, and Khaled Ibrahim, Lenny Oliker, and Sam Williams of CRD

Evaluation of the Communication Motif for a Distributed Eigensolver using the SST Network Simulation Tool, 5:15-5:45 pm EST, 2:15-2:45 pm PST; part of PMBS20 workshop; authors include Taylor Groves, Dossay Oryspayev, Brandon Cook, and Chao Yang of NERSC

Posters

Accelerating GMRES with Deep Learning in Real Time, Johannes Blaschke, NERSC

Friday, Nov. 13

Workshops

WACCPD 2020: Seventh Workshop on Accelerator Programming Using Directives, 10 am – 2 pm EST, 7-11 am PST; organizers include Sridutt Bhalachandra of NERSC

2nd Workshop on Machine Learning for Computing Systems, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Kadidia Konate of NERSC

Fourth Workshop on Interactive High-Performance Computing, 2:30-6:30 pm EST, 11:30 am - 3:30 pm PST; organizers include Rollin Thomas of NERSC

Presentations/Papers

Evaluating Performance Portability of OpenMP for SNAP on NVIDIA, Intel, and AMD GPUs using the Roofline Methodology, 12:40-1:20 pm EST, 9:40-10:20 am PST; authors include Neil Mehta, Rahulkumar Gayatri, and Jack Deslippe of NERSC

Modernizing the HPC System Software Stack, 12:50-1:10 pm EST, 9:50-10:10 am PST; part of the HPCSYSPRO20 workshop; presenters include Doug Jacobsen and Eric Roman of NERSC

Performance Assessment of OpenMP Compilers Targeting NVIDIA V100 GPUs, 1:20-2 pm EST, 10:20-11 am PST; part of the WACCPD 2020 workshop; authors include Christopher Daley and Nicholas Wright of NERSC

Accelerating Microstructural Analytics with Dask for Volumetric X-ray Imaging, 3:16-3:34 pm EST, 12:16-12:34 pm PST; part of the PyHPC 2020: 9th Workshop on Python for High-Performance and Scientific Computing; author: Daniela Ushizima of CRD

Towards Interactive, Reproducible Analytics at Scale on HPC Systems, 4:15-4:40 pm EST, 1:15-1:40 pm PST; part of the Fourth Workshop on Interactive High Performance Computing; authors include Shreyas Cholia, Matthew Henderson, Drew Paine, Ludovico Bianchi, Devarshi Ghoshal, and Lavanya Ramakrishnan of CRD

Studies of leveraging HPC for workloads with real-time time constraints, 5:20-5:25 pm EST, 2:20-2:25 pm PST; part of the Urgent HPC: HPC for Urgent Decision Making workshop; author: David Skinner of NERSC

Computer-aided diagnostic tools for COVID-19 detection via X-RAY imaging, 5:55-6 pm EST, 2:55- 3 pm PST; part of the Urgent HPC: HPC for Urgent Decision Making workshop; author: Robbie Sadre of CRD

Monday, Nov. 16

Birds of a Feather

TOP500 Supercomputers, 4-5:30 pm EST, 1-2:30 pm PST; session leaders include Erich Strohmaier, formerly with CRD, now retired; and Horst Simon, deputy director of research for Berkeley Lab

Tuesday, Nov. 17

Panels

Exotic Computation and System Technology: 2006, 2020 and 2035, 11:45 am – 1:15 pm EST, 8:45-9:15 am PST; moderated by Brent Draney of NERSC; panelists include Kathy Yelick, former ALD of Berkeley Lab’s Computing Sciences Area who now holds a joint research appointment at Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley

The Diverse Approaches to Tiering HPC Storage, 1:30-3 pm EST, 10:30 am - 12 pm PST; panelists include Glenn Lockwood of NERSC

State of the Practice

Visual Data Management at NERSC, 10-10:30 am EST, 7-7:30 am PST; authors include Lisa Gerhardt and Annette Greiner of NERSC

The Superfacility project: automated pipelines for experiments and HPC, 10:30-11 am EST, 7:30-8 am PST; author: Deborah Bard of NERSC

Deploying Checkpoint/Restart for Production Workloads at NERSC, 10:30-11 am EST, 7:30-8 am PST; authors include Zhengji Zhao and Rebecca Hartman-Baker of NERSC

Presentations/Papers

MeshfreeFlowNet: A Physics-Constrained Deep Continuous Space-Time Super-Resolution Framework, 11-11:30 am EST, 8-8:30 am PST; Best Student Paper Award Finalist; authors include Karthik Kashinath and Mustafa Mustafa of NERSC

TAGO: Rethinking Routing Design in High Performance Reconfigurable Networks, 1-1:30 pm EST, 10-10:30 am PST; authors include George Michelogiannakis and John Shalf of CRD

Iris: Allocation Banking and Identity and Access Management for the Exascale Era, 4-4:30 pm EST, 1-1:30 pm PST; authors include Bagor Torok, Mark Day, Rebecca Hartman-Baker, and Cory Snavely of NERSC

Wednesday, Nov. 18

Birds of a Feather

Spack Community BOF, 11:30 am – 12:45 pm EST, 8:30-9:45 am PST; session leaders include Shahzeb Siddiqui of NERSC

Exhibitor Forum

SOLAR Consortium: Accelerated Ray Tracing for Scientific Simulations, 10-10:30 am EST, 7-7:30 am PST; presenters include Hannah Ross of CRD

Presentations/Papers

Accelerating GMRES with Deep Learning in Real Time, 10 - 11.30am EST, Best Research Poster nominee presentation by Kevin Luna (NERSC intern) and Johannes Blascke (Mentor, NERSC)

Tuning Floating-Point Precision Using Dynamic Program Information and Temporal Locality, 10:30-11 am EST, 7:30-8 am PST; authors include Hugo Brunie of NERSC and Costin Ianc and Khaled Ibrahim of CRD

C-SAW: A Framework for Graph Sampling and Random Walk on GPUs, 1:30-2 pm EST, 10:30-11 am PST; authors include Sherry Li of CRD

Reducing Communication in Graph Neural Network Training, 3-3:30 pm EST, 12:00-12:30 pm PST; authors include Aydin Buluc of CRD and Kathy Yelick, former ALD of Berkeley Lab’s Computing Sciences Area who now holds a joint research appointment at Berkeley Lab and UC Berkeley

Distributed Many-to-Many Protein Sequence Alignment using Sparse Matrices, 4:07-4:30 pm EST, 1:07-1:30 pm PST; authors include Oguz Selvitopi and Aydin Buluc of CRD

Thursday, Nov. 19

Panels

The Inner Workings of SCinet as Told by Four Alumni of the Women in IT Networking at SC (WINS) Program, 1-2:30 pm EST, 10-11:30 am PST; panelists include Soledad Toledano of NERSC

Exotic Storage and Data Technology: 2006 to 2020 and Beyond, 3-4:30 pm EST, 12:00-1:30 pm PST; moderated by Brent Draney of NERSC

Presentations/Papers

Preparing Nuclear Astrophysics for Exascale, 1-1:30 pm EST, 10-10:30 am PST; authors include Ann Almgren, Jean Sexton, Don Willcox, and Weiqun Zhang of CRD and Kevin Gott of NERSC

Posters

Evaluation of Power Controls and Counters on General-Purpose Graphics Processing Units; authors include Sridutt Bhalachandra and Nicholas Wright of NERSC

Semantic Search for Self-Describing Scientific Data Formats; authors include Suren Byna of CRD

TaskWorks: A Task Engine for Empowering Asynchronous Operations in HPC Applications; authors include Quincey Koziol of NERSC and Suren Byna of CRD

 


About Computing Sciences at Berkeley Lab

The Computing Sciences Area at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory provides the computing and networking resources and expertise critical to advancing Department of Energy Office of Science research missions: developing new energy sources, improving energy efficiency, developing new materials, and increasing our understanding of ourselves, our world, and our universe.

Founded in 1931 on the belief that the biggest scientific challenges are best addressed by teams, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and its scientists have been recognized with 13 Nobel Prizes. Today, Berkeley Lab researchers develop sustainable energy and environmental solutions, create useful new materials, advance the frontiers of computing, and probe the mysteries of life, matter, and the universe. Scientists from around the world rely on the Lab’s facilities for their own discovery science. Berkeley Lab is a multiprogram national laboratory, managed by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science.

DOE’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, please visit energy.gov/science.