A-Z Index | Directory | Careers

Divisions & Facilities

The Computing Sciences Area is comprised of four divisions that operate two national user facilities. Our two research divisions – Applied Mathematics and Computational Research (AMCR) and Scientific Data (SciData) – are home to mathematicians, computer scientists (who study and innovate in computing architectures, software, and algorithms), and computational scientists (who specialize in using computational methods to study non-computer science subjects, such as climate or physics). The National Energy Research Scientific Computing Center (NERSC) is DOE national user facility and the primary high-performance computing center serving researchers across the DOE Office of Science complex. It is housed within the eponymous NERSC Division. The Energy Sciences Network (ESnet), also a national user facility, is the Department of Energy's dedicated science network, helping researchers meet their goals from experiment to discovery. It is situated within the Scientific Networking Division.

Applied Mathematics & Computational Research

The Applied Mathematics and Computational Research Division conducts research and development in mathematical modeling and simulation, algorithm design, computer system architecture, and high-performance software implementation. Read More »


ESnet links scientists at national laboratories, universities, and other research institutions around the world through high-bandwidth, reliable connections. Read More »


NERSC is the primary scientific computing center for the Department of Energy Office of Science and a DOE National User Facility that supports the work of more than 7,000 scientists. Read More »

Scientific Data (SciData)

The Scientific Data Division (SciData) transforms data-driven discovery and understanding through the development and application of novel data science methods, technologies, and infrastructures with scientific partners. Read More »